Home

Kacey asked me quite some time ago to post these muffin recipes.  Sorry it took so long.  

I got tired of the messy cereal and felt it was a little bland and boring.  I started doing this when Hazel started school.  I make a huge batch of either my mom’s recipe or one I use from “Deceptively Delicious”, freeze them, and Hazel eats a muffin and a banana for breakfast everyday.  It is super easy and quick, as well as healthy!  I alternate between the two recipes and she still really seems to like them both.  

Mom’s Muffin Recipe: ( we made some slight modifications so they would be more nutritious and they were still delicious)

2 cups flour (unbleached)

1 1/4 cup sugar (used about 1 cup brown sugar and  1/4 cup vanilla yogurt, could use apple sauce as well)

2 teaspoons baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 Cup shredded carrots (about 3 carrots)

1 1/2 Cup shredded apple (2-3 apples)

3 eggs

1 cup cooking oil ( I used about half cup oil and about another half cup vanilla yogurt)

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

(we also added some craisins into the recipe.  Hazel loves craisins and they tasted good in the muffins, raisins would be good as well, I imiagine)

Bake at 375 for about 15 minutes

 

Deceptively Delicious Muffin Recipe

1/2 cup brown sugar

4 tablespoons trans-fat-free soft tub margarine spread, chilled ( I used slightly melted butter, I prefer the fat over the plastic 🙂

1 cup lowfat lemon yogurt (I used vanilla)

1 cup blueberries

1/2 cup yellow squash puree ( I used pumpkin becuase that is what I had on hand)

1 large egg

2 teaspoons pure lemon extract

1 teaspoon grater lemon zest (never have used this)

2 cups all purpose flour

1/4 cup flaxseed meal

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

beat sugar, and margarine.  Stir in yogurt, blueberries, yellow squash puree, egg, lemon zest, and lemon extract.  Then add flour flaxseed meal, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Stir just to combine,do not over-mix.  It should be lumpy.  Bake at 350 degrees until muffins are lightly browned on top and toothpick comes out clean.  Between 13 to 16 minutes.  If you individually wrap them and freeze, they can last up to a month.

2 thoughts on “Breakfast of Champions

  1. I love that Deceptively Delicious recipe. That’s the winner at our house. We also like the Deceptively Delicious oatmeal raisin cookies. mmmm. I’m going to have to try your mom’s muffin recipe though. That sounds magic.

Leave a Reply

