Home

This weekend has been action packed to say the least.  Saturday, Phillip had asked my mom to come into town for a surprise/helpful visit.  To which she graciously abided.  She arrived, much to my surprise, and said she came to babysit so we should go out for a fun filled night. Then Phillip, the great actor that he is, proceeded to ask me what I wanted to do (we were celebrating my birthday).  To which I said “you had my mom drive all this way and you don’t even know what we are going to do?”  To which he responded “Well I figured we could go to a nice meal and stay out late.”  I was annoyed.  He said he would find someplace good and pretended to do some onine research before saying he had found the perfect place.  We set off about 5pm and drove for about 45 minutes.  Finally I caught glimpse of a massive structure in the distance, it was a CASTLE!!!  Yes my hubby took me to midevil times, a jousting dinner theatre, for my birthday celebration.  As we were walking in my good friend Casey met us at the door with a gift.  She was joining us!  Shortly there after our good friends Chris and Jess came as well.  Phillip had organized this surprise get together a month ago and clearly he knew where we would be eating that night. Our half-chickens and dragon’s blood soup awaited us! (Oh, and no silverware in medieval times, we ate it all with our fingers!  Ewwww.)  We were donned with green crowns and cheered for our knight (who was the bad guy) all night long.  Unfortunately he was slain at the end of the show.  It was such a  fun experience to share with friends since it is pretty cheesy.  

 

we were quite impressed by his cardboard/duct tape armor

we were quite impressed by his cardboard/duct tape armor

our gang

our gang

Casey and me with our green Knight after the show

Casey and me with our green Knight after the show

Then the night got really interesting.  Shortly after coming home and getting into bed I realized there was an “issue.”  I will spare you the gory details, but I had began to bleed quite severely.  I tried to have my OB paged, no response.  I texted my (wonderful, amazing, helpful beyond words) cousin Megan, a labor and delivery nurse in Seattle, she said to get to the hospital immediately.  Than goodness my mother was here so Phillip and I could head to the hospital right away and not have to wake our sleeping baby.  I was admitted very quickly which was a good thing.  The ER was filled with people coughing and wearing masks, quite a scary sight.  We got into a room in labor and delivery within ten minutes of our arrival.  The doctor was amazing she was actually a DO, they have the same training as an MD, but believe in more holistic and natural methods.  She was a resident and I loved her.  We talked for probably an hour about VBAC’s, natural birth, circumcisions and the whole spectrum of baby-related things I hadn’t been able to speak to my doctor about.  She said I was a great candidate for a VBAC (vaginal birth after cesarean) and gave me some doctors and hospitals which she highly recommended.  Our current hospital does not allow the practice.  Oh and she did give me an ultrasound and said our baby “looked beautiful”  there were no problems there and after an exam, cleared me to go home, chalking it all up to “sensitive tissue.”  This trip to the ER was actually a huge blessing in disguise.  To talk to a health care provider who really believed in VBAC’s and natural birth and encouraged me to seek the route I wanted for me and my baby, not what was convenient for my doctor was wonderful.  Needless to say, I will be switching health care providers at 22 weeks, please pray for us and out new doctor!  I hope this process will work swiftly and easily.  

 

Although we didn’t get to bed until 3 o’clock this morning we simply could not pass up this beautiful, sunny, 60 degree Chicago day.  We loaded up the car, after mom helped with Hazel, allowing us a few extra winks this morning, and headed to the County Line Apple Orchard in Indiana.  We just heard about this place and will definitely be heading back next year.  We enjoyed a trolly ride, apple picking, apple doughnuts, the farm and carmeled apples, just to name a few of the activities available.  We were there over three hours and had a blast.  Hazel loved every minute of it and didn’t mind taking a much later nap than usual.  

 

we had to...

we had to...

feeding the animals

feeding the animals

I loved this, "The Three Little Piggies" a house of straw, sticks and bricks

I loved this, "The Three Little Piggies" a house of straw, sticks and bricks

she is pretty tall

she is pretty tall

the gals having a "gala" old time, haha

the gals having a "gala" old time, haha

They even had mini John Deere's for the kids

They even had mini John Deere's for the kids

"no hands!"

"no hands!"

Peter-Peter Pumpkin Eater (he came alive every hour on the hour)

Peter-Peter Pumpkin Eater (he came alive every hour on the hour)

she was completely enthralled by his performance

she was completely enthralled by his performance

picking apples with daddy, that one never made it to the bag

picking apples with daddy, that one never made it to the bag

attempt #2

attempt #2

cute mom, all she wanted was honey crisps, but they were out :(

cute mom, all she wanted was honey crisps, but they were out 😦

the little family, picking apples

the little family, picking apples

the 22nd was my birthday, I had to

the 22nd was my birthday, I had to

5 thoughts on “Jousting, ER visit, and apple picking….

  1. Oh Amanda! I am SO glad you are going to try a vbac! It was SUCH a great experience for me and one I’ll always remember. There is nothing like a new baby – whether section or natural delivery -but to be able to see what your body is designed to do and experience every part of being a new momma without having to heal from major surgery at the same time is sooo great! I’ll be praying for you to find the perfect doctor. Make sure they REALLY believe in them and do them often. My Ob never treated me any different from any other mom and I never doubted that she was going to let me vbac this baby. Please email me if you have any questions about it. 🙂

  2. County Line Orchard is amazing!! Being that my family is from Indiana it was a must for us when we were younger. Well worth the trip!! Good luck with finding an OB who supports your decisions.

  3. Glad you had a great birthday surprise. Even more glad everything turned out okay that night. And thrilled that you found a healthcare provider to hear your wants/concerns and walk you through that process. Love you! Always a phone call away. 🙂

Leave a Reply

