Home

It seems that everytime I vacume, dust, put a book away…I can’t leave well enough alone and end up rearranging/crafting, in said room.  Today the victim:  Hazel’s room.

Back Story: My hope had been that once Callum was sleeping through the night, he and Hazel could share a room.  HAHAHAHA.  If someone would have told me that not only would Callum still be waking up 2-4 times a night at nearly 6 months of age, but his 2.5 year old sister, would be too, I would have thought they were talking crazy… But here we are, and here I am, sleep deprived and over caffeinated…and I have finally accepted that putting them in the same room is not an option in the foreseeable future.  Alas, my dream of maintaining a guest room without a crib, has gone out the window faster than my  REM cycle.  Therefore, Callum’s crib is now in the guest room, opening up lots of space in Hazel’s room, hence the need for rearranging/decorating.

First I took some left over IKEA fabric used to make this…

Just love this print, thanks dad for framing it!

The rocking chair was mine when I was a little lass.

And I made some pillows, stitched by hand, while Callum crawled around and impaled himself with Duplos.  (Just so you know I am not super mom, I just can’t quit a project once I get started.)

My mom originally had made the flowers as seat cushions for Hazel’s table and chairs but Hazel always took them off, so I stuffed them and turned them into MORE PILLOWS!!!

hand made pillows

the other pillow and the lamp I spray painted after being inspired by this blog post.

the other hand made pillows and spray painted lamp

The headboard I painted after finding it in the trash some months back…and some painted frames

headboard

Another IKEA purchase we have had for years.  This bench has been EVERYWHERE in our house and I just never seem to get enough use out of it.  I stole it from the family room and LOVE it in Hazel’s room.  It is just her size and makes all of her toys easily accessible.  Also a sampling of some “Hazel Art” above it.

The Ikea bench

And this was a card we recieved from a co-worker of Phillip’s after Callum was born.  I loved it, so I placed some pretty paper behind, slapped it to some burlap inside an old frame and hung it on the wall.  The picture is a bit blurry but it reads:

The greatest gift a father can give his children is to love their mother.”–Amen

framed card

2 thoughts on “Hazel’s Room

Leave a Reply

