Home

Okay so this is a band wagon I really didn’t think I was going to be jumping on until I decided one of these coffee filter wreaths would really look cute with the shutters I have been storing in the garage since last summer. I am sure you have seen them all over the blogisphere, like here, here, here, here, aaaaaaand here hehehehe. I know, it is like a coffee filter wreath epidemic.

Anywho, I spent zero dollars as I didn’t buy a “wreath form.”  Instead, I very scientifically used a trash can to trace a circle on a box and cut it out, then used a roll of duct tape to trace the the middle of the circle.

And just like that, CIRCLE BAM!

I should mention this craft was a quick one, especially since I did a smallish size wreath and didn’t have to run out and pick up any supplies.  I really appreciate instant gratification like that.  I started and finished the project while Callum sat in his highchair eating his after- nap snack.  I just kept throwing cheerios at him, which got increasingly difficult as I continued to burn more fingers with the hot glue.

Oh, the shutters.  We got a bagillion of them at our neighbor’s garage sale this summer.  Seriously if you would like some, come and take a few!  I painted these after the kiddos went to bed.

(notice the motorcycle helmet, better safe than sorry is what I always say)

I had to duct tape one side of the shutter to keep all of the little shutter thingies facing the same way.

And here she is!  I faked the ribbon holding wreath look, because really the wreath is just glued on. tehehe

Phillip said the wreath needed something in the middle so I put a little birdy in there, you can only see it if you are standing half a foot away though.


While I wouldn’t recommend sacrificing your morning cup to make one of these, I was really happy with the end result.  I always enjoy when minimal work yields something cute!

I think pretty mush all of those links up above offer good tutorials so if you want to make one of your own check them out!

One thought on “Everybody is Doing It

  1. Pingback: Copy Cat Craft « Criswells'n'baby

Leave a Reply

